RSS Feed

Shoe library | Joyce of California court shoes

I don’t have a big collection of vintage shoes, but those I do have I love very much. Here’s my all-time favourite pair: Joyce of California red courts:

I love their colour, their shape, the tiny pictures on the fabric upper and the fact that they are so wearable. Out of all my heels, old and modern, these are the comfiest pair I own. Their colour also means that they make an outfit, and I’ve worn these more than once with just a pair of turned-up jeans and black top. In fact, my only complaint is that, should I wear these out, they’ll be very hard to replace.

I bought these shoes for under £10 back in the late 1990s; I’m not sure I would get such a good deal now. I have tentatively tagged these shoes as ’50s, but would love to hear from anyone who could confirm or deny this for me.

I knew nothing about Joyce of California until I Googled a few moments ago. The brand seems to have been quite big in its time, and Wickedlady Collectables has a nice bit of history about it.

I have not received any compensation for writing this content and I have no material connection to the brands, topics and/or products that are mentioned herein (http://CMP.LY/0/jXFZkQ).

About SarahAnderson

I love old stuff and like to write.

2 responses »

  1. auldfromreekie

    I didn’t mean to click ‘like’ on my own post – oops!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Shoe library | brown embroidered court « The Auld from Reekie

Leave a comment