RSS Feed

The wedding guests

As I mentioned in my post on gloves, me and Mr Vintage Doc were due to attend a wedding recently which required our greatest finery. We ended up wearing quite a lot of vintage – by accident rather than design – so I’m inflicting a rare photo of myself upon you. (Apologies for the quality – it’s the only one I got.)

Wedding guest outfits made up of vintage and new bits

I’m wearing my DIY fascinator (not really seen here), 1940s-ish embroidered courts and 1950s gloves, along with a modern dress and jacket and my new favourite tights – vintage-looking Levante Micronet in in ‘Caffe’. (I’ve since taken the pockets out of the dress, as I don’t like the visible seams that you can see here.)

However, I think Mr Vintage Doc actually got the best find. After despairing slightly at the cost of hiring a morning suit for a weekend, I found him the jacket, which dates from 1926, on Ebay. It’s in great condition, and I hope it might be around another eighty-five years. I would, however, like to ensure it’s fresh before storage, and am nervous about dry-cleaning (I usually hand wash anything particularly old, but this isn’t an option for a wool jacket). Tips on the best way to proceed in order to avoid a laundry mishap are very welcome.

I have not received any compensation for writing this content and I have no material connection to the brands, topics and/or products that are mentioned herein (http://CMP.LY/0/jXFZkQ).

About SarahAnderson

I love old stuff and like to write.

Leave a Reply

