RSS Feed

Dear diary…

Dear diary…

For the last few months, I’ve been keeping a diary, something I’ve not done since childhood. It’s been useful in a number of ways, but there is always the thought of what someone else would think were they to read it. I live in hope that someone might enjoy it in the same way that I’ve enjoyed Blitz DiaryTalking with Past Hours and Her Five Year Diary.

Blitz Diary and Her Five Year Diary are very simple: someone has found an old diary and is now publishing its entries, day-by-day, to the internet. It’s rare that anything other than the mundane is reported, and that’s the charm. Blitz Diary is, as you might expect, based on the journal of someone (nineteen-year-old Eileen Kelly) living through the London Blitz in 1941. Her Five Year Diary brings you the 1960s life of an anonymous Seattle women.

The book Talking with Past Hours is an edited version of the diary written by a young man – William Fletcher – in the nineteenth century. It’s of particular interest to me because William lived in my home town (Bridgnorth, Shropshire, UK). Hearing him speak of houses and streets that are still here gives me greater reverence for what I usually take for granted, and William’s pleasant and often entertaining character comes through in the text.

If you fancy a read yourself:

I have not received any compensation for writing this content and I have no material connection to the brands, topics and/or products that are mentioned herein (http://CMP.LY/0/jXFZkQ).

About SarahAnderson

I love old stuff and like to write.

Leave a Reply

