RSS Feed

Two past-focussed Edinburgh blogs

Two past-focussed Edinburgh blogs

I really should be heading off for bed but, before I do, I thought I’d let you know about a couple of blogs on the subjects of Edinburgh vintage and old Edinburgh itself:

Fashions from the Past

Edinburgh’s answer to Casey’s Elegant Musings, American-in-Scotland Debi sews at what appears to be a breathtaking rate to produce gorgeous clothes from original vintage patterns. If you love the forties, then you won’t be able to tear your eyes away from the screen. There’s also some interesting stuff on here about the international vintage sewing blog community!

The Scottish Aeneas 

Colin Macaulay’s blog (which I discovered only today after Colin commented on an earlier post of mine) is all about Edinburgh in the Georgian period. I’ve yet to read through all that’s on offer, but I have already spotted the profiles of key Edinburgh-dwellers of the time that I’m keen to read. Some good links to online resources (including older texts in the National Library of Scotland – one of my favourite places in my early twenties) on here, too.

That’s all for now folks. I let you know about any other goodies I find. Meanwhile, sweet dreams…

About SarahAnderson

I love old stuff and like to write.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Mystery solved (or some of it) « The Auld from Reekie

Leave a Reply

