RSS Feed

Fifties English honeymoon style

Digging out the photo of my nan in her wedding dress recently, I spent some time going through my grandparents’ honeymoon photographs. I am, admittedly, somewhat biased, but I really am wowed by a couple of the outfits my nan wore on her trip to Stratford-upon-Avon:

My grandparents weren’t particularly well-off when these pictures were taken. Both were from rural Shropshire, and their families made their living through farm or other labouring work. Around this time, my nan worked in a Lipton’s tea shop, and my granddad would have been earning money in a clay pipe works or driving cement lorries. Goes to show that you just either have style, or you don’t.

About VintageDoc

I love old stuff and like to write.

Leave a Reply

