RSS Feed

The Festival’s here and I’m not grumpy

Posted on
The Festival’s here and I’m not grumpy

We’ve had the sun out this morning and I went to my first Fringe show last night, so I am now finally in the Festival spirit. No longer will I growl as I fight through the crowds of tourists when I’m late for work. (But what is there to see at 8:30am?)

The Edinburgh Jazz and Blues Festival ran at the end of July. I’m not especially a fan of these types of music, but this Festival creates a fun atmosphere in Edinburgh Grassmarket area, and a few market stalls sell second-hand goods to the captive audience. This year, one of Edinburgh’s fairly new vintage-reproduction clothes shops came along for the ride. Miss Dixiebelle was offering vintage hair and make-up styling along with a selection of their goods, and a lady getting her hair done in finger waves/pin curls (?) kindly let me take her picture.

Vintage hair at Edinburgh Jazz Festival
Miss Dixiebelle stying hair at Edinburgh Jazz Festival; (c) Sarah Anderson 2011; taken with model’s permission.

Having your hair done in the blazing sun certainly beats spending 90 minutes making holiday chat in your average Edinburgh salon, and it seemed to be quite a crowd-puller!

I have not received any compensation for writing this content and I have no material connection to the brands, topics and/or products that are mentioned herein (http://CMP.LY/0/jXFZkQ).

About VintageDoc

I love old stuff and like to write.

Leave a Reply

